Tag Archives: 爱上海ZW


Crandon gives Super50 squad vote of confidence

first_img– No new caps, Beaton named in 14-man squadBy Rajiv BisnauthGUYANA Jaguars Head Coach Esaun Crandon said he is happy with the 14-man squadJonathan Fooselected and is optimistic about the players giving a good account of themselves during the 2017 NAGICO Regional Super 50 tournament.The senior selection panel announced the 14-man squad yesterday, with no real surprises, but Crandon is of the opinion that the squad is one of the most well-balanced units comprising the maximum number of match-winners, and feels it is the best chance for the Guyanese to bag their tenth coveted title at this level.Ronsford Beaton“I think we have a good all-round and balanced squad. Obviously we have a lot of players who are frequently in the one day squad, so the experience is there.“I think we have a decent mix of players which I’m satisfied and prepared to work along with,” said Crandon during an exclusive interview yesterday with Chronicle sport.The left-handed Leon Johnson is once again at the helm, and he will have a bunch of experienced players to call on, among them is middle-order batting stalwart Shivnarine Chanderpaul.The squad includes seven players who have represented the regional side in Tests, One Day Internationals (ODIs) and Twenty20s, and Crandon believes the team’s flexibility provided by the presence of batting and bowling all-rounders will be a major asset in the tournament.“We stand a good chance of bettering last year’s performance. I am confident of us doing well and I feel it is our best chance of winning our 10th title at this level,” said the 35-year-old former national all-rounder.The squad this year is further strengthened with the inclusion of West Indies Test opener Rajendra Chandrika and leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo. The squad also includes West Indies A team pacer Ronsford Beaton, former West Indies youth captain Shimron Hetmyer and hard-hitting batsman Jonathan Foo.The five players were not part of the squad last year. However, they replaced recent West Indies A team players, middle-order batsman Vishaul Singh and left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie, fast bowler Romario Shepherd, opening batsman Kevon Boodie and all-rounder Royston Crandon who were all part of last year’s squad.Further,when questioned about Beaton’s selection to the squad, chairman of selectors Rayon Griffith said Beaton was named among the 28 players selected for training, and was eligible for selection.Earlier in the week it was reported that Beaton will turn out for the Leeward Islands Hurricanes during the upcoming tournament, with the Leeward Islands Cricket Board chief and operations officer, Vernon Springer, confirming to the Observer newspaper that Beaton, West Indies right-hander Marlon Samuels and Trinidadian Daron Cruickshank will be making their appearance for Leeward Islands Hurricanes.However, Griffith pointed out that the Leeward Islands Cricket Board did not inform the selection panel regrading Beaton’s position. Griffith also mentioned that Beaton himself did not inform the selection panel on any such move.The Guyana Jaguars will do battle in Group B of the Super50 which runs from January 24 to February 18 in Antigua and Barbados.Group B comprises last year losing finalists Barbados Pride, Combined Campuses and Colleges Marooners, Jamaica Scorpions,Guyana Jaguars and ICC Americas.Meanwhile, title-holders Trinidad & Tobago Red Force, Leeward Islands Hurricanes, Windward Islands Volcanoes, the West Indies U-19s, and visiting English County Kent Spitfires have been installed in Group A.When the action bowls, the Guyanese will be aiming for a 10th regional 50-over title, the last of which was achieved in 2005 when they defeated Barbados in near darkness in the final of the KFC Cup at the GCC ground, Bourda.Prior to that, Guyana reigned supreme in 1980, 1983, 1985, 1993, 1995, 1998, 2001 and 2003.The Guyana Jaguars squad reads: Leon Johnson (Captain), Veerasammy Permaul (Vice-Captain), Anthony Bramble (Wkp), Shimron Hetmyer, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Christopher Barnwell, Raymon Reifer, Rajendra Chandrika, Steven Jacobs, Assad Fudadin, Devendra Bishoo, Ronsford Beaton, Paul Wintz and Jonathan Foo.Management Staff: Esaun Crandon (Head-coach), Rayon Griffith (Assistant-Coach) and Ernesto Gonzalez (Physiotherapist).last_img read more


Dunne unsure if ‘Bubbles’ will start against Galway

first_imgThe Killenaule club man was sent off in the Munster semi-final against Limerick, which forced him to miss their win over Waterford in the provincial decider.Dunne, who was a member of the team that won 2001 All-Ireland final, says that Tipp boss Michael Ryan will have to see O’Dwyer impress at training in order to get the nod.last_img